800-PLAYTIX (752-9849) Login
The Tempest
The Tempest

By William Shakespeare

July 12 - October 8, 2022
Eileen and Allen Anes Studio Theatre
Sponsored by
The Jaka Foundation

Teeming with fairies, monsters, shipwrecks, and magic, The Tempest is Shakespeare’s last and most imaginative romance. Updated to the 1990s, this production is set on a small island where the deposed Duchess Prospero and her lovely daughter, Miranda, have been stranded for twelve years and where nothing is quite as it seems. But as they separate fantasy from authenticity, they eventually discover a “brave new world” of love, harmony, and redemption.

Cast

Alonso—René Thornton Jr.
Sebastian—John Bixler
Antonio—Arizsia Staton
Ferdinand—Freedom Martin
Prospero—Jasmine Bracey
Miranda—Amara Webb
Ariel—Sophia K. Metcalf
Caliban—Aidan O’Reilly
Trinculo—Kevin Kantor
Stephano—Anatasha Blakely
Gonzalo—Steven Jensen
Iris—Kevin Kantor
Juno—Arizsia Staton
Ceres—John Bixler
Ensemble—John Bixler†, Anatasha Blakely, Steven Jensen, Kevin Kantor†, Sophia K. Metcalf, Arizsia Staton, René Thornton Jr.

Understudies

John Bixler†—Alonso/ Gonzalo/ Ensemble; Jacob Sorling—Sebastian/ Ferdinand/ Caliban/ Trinculo/ Iris/Ceres/ Ensemble; Arizsia Staton—Prospero; Elise Thayn—Antonio/ Miranda/ Ariel/ Stephano/ Juno/ Ensemble
Understudies never substitute for listed players unless an announcement is made prior to the performance.

†Member of Actors’ Equity Association, the union of professional actors and stage managers in the United States.

The director is working on contract with the Stage Directors and Choreographers Society, a national theatrical labor union.

The scenery, costume, sound, and lighting designers are represented by the United Scenic Artists, Local USA 829 of the IATSE.

Videotaping or other video or audio recording of this production is strictly prohibited.

#thetempestusf

  • The Tempest - Preview Calendar Buy Tickets
    Tuesday, July 12, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest - Opening Calendar Buy Tickets
    Wednesday, July 13, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Thursday, July 14, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Friday, July 15, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Saturday, July 16, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Monday, July 18, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Tuesday, July 19, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Wednesday, July 20, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Thursday, July 21, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Friday, July 22, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Saturday, July 23, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Monday, July 25, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Tuesday, July 26, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Wednesday, July 27, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Thursday, July 28, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Friday, July 29, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Saturday, July 30, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Monday, August 1, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Tuesday, August 2, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Wednesday, August 3, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Thursday, August 4, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Friday, August 5, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Saturday, August 6, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Monday, August 8, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Tuesday, August 9, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Wednesday, August 10, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Thursday, August 11, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Friday, August 12, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Saturday, August 13, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Monday, August 15, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Tuesday, August 16, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Wednesday, August 17, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Thursday, August 18, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Friday, August 19, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Saturday, August 20, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Monday, August 22, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Tuesday, August 23, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Wednesday, August 24, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Thursday, August 25, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Friday, August 26, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Saturday, August 27, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Monday, August 29, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Tuesday, August 30, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Wednesday, August 31, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Thursday, September 1, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Friday, September 2, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Saturday, September 3, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Monday, September 5, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Tuesday, September 6, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Wednesday, September 7, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Thursday, September 8, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Friday, September 9, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest - Sensory Calendar Buy Tickets
    Saturday, September 10, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Tuesday, September 13, 2022, 8:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Wednesday, September 14, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Thursday, September 15, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Friday, September 16, 2022, 8:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Saturday, September 17, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Tuesday, September 20, 2022, 8:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Wednesday, September 21, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Thursday, September 22, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Friday, September 23, 2022, 8:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest - Closed Captioning Available Calendar Buy Tickets
    Saturday, September 24, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Tuesday, September 27, 2022, 8:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Wednesday, September 28, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Thursday, September 29, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Thursday, September 29, 2022, 8:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Friday, September 30, 2022, 8:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Saturday, October 1, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Tuesday, October 4, 2022, 8:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Wednesday, October 5, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Thursday, October 6, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest Calendar Buy Tickets
    Friday, October 7, 2022, 8:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
  • The Tempest - Closing Calendar Buy Tickets
    Saturday, October 8, 2022, 2:00 pm
    Anes Studio Theatre
    Availability:
images/tempest-1876x1497.jpg
Learn More
Study Guide
Content Advisory

The Tempest is one of Shakespeare’s most popular romances. It contains some of Shakespeare’s usual sexual puns and innuendo, but it is suitable for all audiences.

Duration

Approximately 2 hours and 30 minutes

Artwork by Cully Long.
© Utah Shakespeare Festival 2022 www.bard.org